Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 19, 2011

Email: Miyamoto confirms you were right about Nintendo’s development motivations

.
There’s a bunch of crap in this interview, but here’s the important part:
.
GS: So what’s your master plan? You have, through your games and now the direction of the Wii, exerted a tremendous influence on the way games have developed and the people who play games. What’s the ultimate goal? What would make you feel like you had accomplished what you wanted to accomplish in this industry?
.
SM:
Well, for me personally, I’d like to see my kids get married and give me some grandkids. [laughs] Well, I don’t really have a specific goal. I mean, if anything, lately what’s been most important to me is to work with my teams and the people that I work with and work on our projects. And when we’re done, to be able to look back and say, “Man, that was a tough project, but we had a lot of fun doing that.”
 .
And for me, that’s kind of become my main theme, working directly with them, to help them unleash their creativity so that we can have fun working on these projects. And really, my job then has become to give them the courage to bring their creativity to life.
 .

Well I’ll be damned. I always assumed there would be more to it than that. Occam’s Razor and such, I guess…

.
You know what will really warp your mind? I will bet money Miyamoto is unable to define what ‘creativity’ is or the origin of the word. Now, if you were to dedicate your life to something, anything, it is a good idea to investigate and figure out what exactly you are dedicating your life to. When someone dedicates their life to a religion or to a cause, they definitely know what it is and can articulate it cleanly and precisely.

‘Creativity’ is a very modern word. Its usage, today, would not only be unknown a century or two ago, it would have even been considered blasphemous. Like a virus, Japan definitely got the word from America. But where America got it from will really surprise you

Like ‘creativity’, another word that is used commonly is ‘culture’. Like ‘creativity’, everyone who uses the word ‘culture’ has no idea where the origin of the word came from or how it came to be. But its usage is also less than a hundred years old.

I like to joke that the artists who did know the word ‘creative’ ended up being considered the creative giants today (the Mozarts, the Shakespeares). And societies who had no word for ‘culture’ actually ended up with a very impressive ‘culture’.

It would take an extensive blog post to explain these origins, and I intend to do so before I go. Let me warn it is a very advanced subject (“What do you mean by that?” I mean this subject dives to depths well beyond the purvey of this ‘video-game’ orientated site.) You’ll see what I mean soon enough.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

