Posted by: seanmalstrom | February 3, 2014

A site with independent reviews

Two complaints I have with game reviewers is that they are paid cheerleaders for the Game Industry (“This big Game Industry game is A+ and perfect all the way!”) and that game reviewers never review older games.

Why should they review older games? To the consumer, they are also on the market. The PlayStation 4 is not just competing with the Xbox One and Wii U, it is also competing against the Atari 2600. I can choose to play an Atari 2600 game over a PlayStation 4 game. With the new games, it is hard to see the crap because everything is all shiny. The classic games of the past do hold up and are worth playing.

I’m the wrong person to come to for game reviews since I don’t have the money to buy every game, lack the time to play all the games, and I really don’t care about most games. For those who are looking for an independent view on video games, look no further than the Video Game Critic. His reviews are short, to the point, and span nearly every console made. While he plays modern games, he cycles through all the old consoles with new reviews.

He liked the new Zelda 3DS game. Since he is someone I trust, I assume the game is good.


Categories

