Posted by: seanmalstrom | February 14, 2014

Email: Nintendo Direct kind of sucked…

It looked like another Japanese pride parade.  Art styles everywhere and a focus on overtly Japanese games (like that unnamed RPG).  I am so sick of Japanese games.  It’s like anime and childish art styles everywhere I go.  It just makes me want to puke.  I’m not the buying the Yoshi 3DS game.

Something has been bothering me with Mario Kart 8 for a while now (aside from its similarities to Mario Kart 7).  I finally noticed what.  It’s the fact that graphically, it looks like Nintendo Land.  I expect it to perform subpar because it’s focusing on whacky ideas (like Double Dash) instead of fundamentals (like Mario Kart DS and Wii).  But it is cool that the Koopa Kids are there.

GBA games on the Virtual Console is cool, but… on the Wii U?  That’s strange.  Why aren’t they on the 3DS?  Also, notice how the first three titles are all ones with whacky art styles.

Also, to me, NES Remix is a highlight of Nintendo’s broken design philosophy.  They make minimal changes to existing games and call it gameplay innovation, but there’s no new content.  I don’t care about playing Super Mario Bros. again, but this time from right to left instead of left to right.  I want a new game with some actual effort.

It feels like Retro Studios is the only one worth a damn anymore.

It did suck. Though, I wouldn’t read anything deeply from it. The E3 direct is four months away. Anything interesting will be saved for that.


Categories

