Posted by: seanmalstrom | March 20, 2014

Why Mighty No. 09 disapoints

I’ve been playing Mega Man since Mega Man 1 (NES) was new. This trailer does nothing for me.

Why?

It is because everything is still locked in a paradigm of 1987.

Why are there still eight robot masters?

Why do the robot masters still do themes such as ‘air theme’ and ‘construction theme’ as we have seen time and time again?

Why does the dashing remind me of combos from shooting games like Ikaruga? Why is the game telling me ‘good’ to ‘great’? Am I suddenly playing Oudan?

Mighty No. 9 scares me. This game feels like Inafune naval-gazing. Before we praise the underdog against the big, bad evil Capcom, what if Capcom was right to can Mega Man? We don’t need more bad Mega Man games (God knows there are enough of them out there). Inafune didn’t do Mega Man 9 or 10 right, why would he suddenly do Mighty No. 09 right?


Categories

