Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 11, 2014

Super Smash Brothers Invitational

I was watching the Nintendo feed for Splatoon (is that how it is spelled?) and, especially, Mario Maker. The Smash Brothers tournament came on afterward, and I was going to turn it off. But I left it on while I cooked food. I ended up watching all of it. I don’t know if I am embarrassed to say that. (Hell. It is E3. One day of the year I should be able to geek out on video games, right?)

I was surprised how much I enjoyed watching it especially near the end. The players were very good, and it was difficult to predict who would win. I think Smash is still pretty unbalanced but everyone seems to be having fun with it.

Nintendo used to do tournaments. Remember the Gold 1990 World Championship NES cart? What happened to these tournaments? What happened to Video Armageddon? I don’t see it as ‘hardcore show’ but more of a celebration of gaming.

Reggie was hilarious at the end. He said with Smash being on the 3DS, he could play it and promised to come back to kick everyone’s ass. I’d love to see that.

You know what I’d like to see? A smash tournament with the Nintendo execs. Reggie, Miyamoto, Iwata and someone else (not Sakurai). It’d be far more entertaining than their digital skits/plays they do in those conferences.


Categories

