Posted by: seanmalstrom | July 20, 2014

Email: Well thanks a lot!

Just a quick email informing you that all these posts you have been making about Zelda 2 made want to play the game again,hah!

Last time I played it was 2 years ago and believe it or not, it was the very first time I played the game from start to finish. I found it very difficult and yet not annoying unlike the awful Skyward sword and Spirit tracks (to date is the only zelda I never finished and lost interest). It really felt an accomplishment when I beat it and never felt like I was cleaning the attic or anything.

I do remember seeing my elder cousins playing the game and I remember being a 10 year-old kid amazed with the game and scared of the creepy game over screen. That’s why I found absurd when I read that “nobody liked the game” from the industry’s cheerleaders on the internet.

I was disappointed that we never got a 16-bit version of Zelda 2 gameplay like we did with Zelda 1 of LTTP. I was more pissed of the lack of Super Mario Brothers 5 though.

Can you imagine a Zelda 2 with a Second Quest? Or with modern game mechanics? Imagine the hookshot in Zelda 2! That would be sweet! I suppose it’d handle similar to Super Metroid’s grapple beam.

 


Categories

