Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 2, 2014

Email: Blizzard Axes Artifacts

Looks like it didn’t take long – A lot of people made a fuss about Artifacts, and just like that, they’re reportedly gone entirely.

Not even rolled back as some people feared would be the case, where it was worried that they’d try to get away with people ‘praising them’ for making artifacts not as bad as they started out, but removed in its entirety.

I can’t verify it myself since I don’t have access to the game at this point, but talk on the forums seems to back up the report.

 

Maybe there’s something in there that I’m missing that your more skillfully attuned eyes and senses can pick up on, but I think it all looks like very good news for the time being.

My hopes for HotS remain in-tact!

 .
Here is the Official Reaction From Gamers:
 .
 .
Guys like Browder may or may not have liked the idea to begin with, but the overarching business model was being pushed. I know it wasn’t Browder who axed this as it had to have been someone higher than him. After the Diablo 3 blow-up, Blizzard is definitely going to listen more closely. I know the president of Blizzard keeps saying you ‘must, must’ take in gamers’ feedback. It is very hard to do because games are like your babies, and the gamers can sound very mean. But, in the end, the gamers want the same thing Blizzard does: a good product.
 .
I just got done with the Heart of the Swarm campaign. Finally replayed it (on normal nonetheless since I haven’t played Starcraft 2 in a long while. I already beat it on Brutal with most of the achievements.). Aside from the Evolution Missions which got tiring, the campaign itself was very solid and fun. I liked Kerrigan better when she was in her Human form as her going primal felt deja vu. My point is that a mission could go from 20 minutes to 30 minutes. You would get 15+ solid hours just from the campaign playing it on an easier mode. Add more for doing a harder mode or the achievements. Then there is the multiplayer, Arcade, etc. The value of the game is clearly there.
.
I don’t understand the Blizzard hate going around. I understand people not liking lack of LAN in Starcraft 2 or Diablo 3’s Auction House, but the Blizzard hate doesn’t make objective sense to me. Part of me suspects it is coming from many former WoW players who find it easier to hate Blizzard instead of themselves for wasting their lives on a stupid video games (WoW). Another part of me thinks it is also marketing from other companies (such as the Valve Corporation).
.
But this is a illustrative moment between Blizzard and… Nintendo. If Blizzard was Nintendo, it would say, “You don’t like Artifacts? Then you cannot understand our genius. We will release it, and you will learn to like it!” This is what Nintendo does. You don’t like Wind Waker graphics? Too bad. Both DS games will be Wind Waker sequels. Skyward Sword and Zelda Wii U will be anime based (even though we put up a video presenting Zelda Wii U as more realistic looking). You don’t like our Virtual Boy? Fuck you! Here is the 3DS. Due to the DS’s huge success, we will piggy back our 3d onto it that we have been trying for years to implement. Don’t like our Gamecube? Fuck you. We will make the Gamecube 2, say ‘connectivity’ is the big feature, and place the Wii label and aesthetics on it so everyone buys our Gamecube 2. Remember. We are geniuses.
 .
This is the tone I am hearing from Nintendo. Should Quality of Life be a big success, I fear Nintendo will just keep making Virtual Boy and Gamecube systems forever at a loss.
 .
Anyway, when is HOTS going to come out? I want to play! This is like the longest Alpha ever.
 .
Above: I want to play!

Categories

