Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 9, 2014

Email: Does Nintendo employ viral marketers now?

I ask because their presence seems overwhelming since Mario Kart 8 came out, all sorts of insane lalaland narratives are being pushed. Is this part of a new marketing strategy?
It’s utterly insane the number of posts I’ve seen from them defending the continued lack of a account system for purchases, some so absurd they either has to be the product of viral marketers, the hardcore who parrot out the words of viral marketers or the mentally ill.

 

Companies like Nintendo hire marketing agencies and it is these marketing agencies that may or may not use viral marketers.

It is not a coincidence that you see people pushing a newly launched game outside of the ‘official game thread’ on message forums.

This is why I wait months after a new game for the marketing to evaporate. A good game will still be good a year or two from now.

The Wii spread fast when people showed it to people during Thanksgiving of 2006. I do remember Nintendo trying to push people to ‘show off their Wii U’ during their Thanksgiving times. I consider that reprehensible. Holidays are for family, not for crappy marketing campaigns.

Anyway, I’m off to play some Mega Man 2 on the original NES hardware. I’m catching up on emails, and I’ll get through them all.


Categories

