Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 21, 2014

Email: Legendary Wings

Greetings Master Malstrom –

The posts about firing the NES up again have inspired me to do the same, and to go through my library to see if there are any underrated gems out there you might have missed. One that I can wholeheartedly recommend is Legendary Wings. It’s a shoot-em’ up like Xevious, where you play as an angel-looking thing that can fire at enemies in the sky while bombing stuff on the ground. The levels alternate between vertical scrolling and horizontal scrolling. The horizontal ones feeling more like those forced-scrolling Mario levels than anything else, and you kill a pink “devil” in a giant mechanical thing at the end of each one. Regarding the setting, story, and art style…I have no freakin’ idea. I never understood it as a kid and get it even less as an adult, but it works, somehow. It’s also not quite as difficult as most shmups because power-ups give you extra hits on top of increasing your weapon power.

If you like shoot-em’ ups, give it a shot. You might enjoy it.

 

Let me get Gradius and Life Force first. Thanks for suggesting it though.

I’m actually taking back a couple of games because I just don’t like them. Boulderdash is a good game, but I’m not digging it. No wonder it never goes about $10 despite its limited availability. There are too many puzzles in the game too which I hate. The other I’m taking back is Nintendo’s Ice Hockey. I just don’t like it. These sports games simply haven’t aged well. If I’m going to play a sports game, there are so many better options. Strange how that is but the more escapist games I prefer on the NES such as Mario and Zelda.

 

 

 

 


Categories

