Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 21, 2014

Email: Teaching men to be men

You said “The art of being a man needs to be re-taught.” In the past, that was traditionally done by the father. But if marriage is dead, then who is going to be the one teaching men to be men? Raising children is HARD – the hardest thing I’ve done in my life so far. I can’t imagine how difficult it would be if I didn’t have my wife. If we have a bunch of boys raised by single moms, then you can be damn sure they aren’t going to be raised to be masculine. Who’s going to lay down the law and teach and teach how to be responsible and successful men? Do we really need kids to grow up without an authoritative father figure? Look what that’s done to the black community (which a lot of people in power seem to not want to talk about). We’re either going to end up with a bunch of delinquints running around, or hardcore gamers stuck in their mom’s basement.

 

I think automation will largely change everything. As Christensen said, most innovation will be in efficiency. Lower to average IQ people aren’t going to get jobs. Society is going to become very different.

 

 


Categories

