Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 28, 2014

Emails about Miyamoto’s comments

Here we go!

Miyamoto hates ‘casual gamers’! But we already knew that right?

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/475384/miyamoto-explains-nintendos-renewed-passion-for-the-core/

At least he confirmed what you have been saying for a long time: he became a bitter old man with a huge ego.

Take care.

 

Hello Master Malstrom,

Miyamoto has recently said things in his interview with Edge Magazine that directly confirm his disdain for making games for the Expanded Audience:http://nintendoeverything.com/miyamoto-says-nintendo-isnt-as-interested-in-making-casual-games-these-days/

“[These are] the sort of people who, for example, might want to watch a movie. They might want to go to Disneyland. Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me it’s kind of a pathetic thing. They do not know how interesting it is if you move one step further and try to challenge yourself [with more advanced games].”

“In the days of DS and Wii, Nintendo tried its best to expand the gaming population. Fortunately, because of the spread of smart devices, people take games for granted now. It’s a good thing for us, because we do not have to worry about making games something that are relevant to general people’s daily lives.”

 

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/475384/miyamoto-explains-nintendos-renewed-passion-for-the-core/

“[These are] the sort of people who, for example, might want to watch a
movie. They might want to go to Disneyland,” he said.

“Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to
entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me
it’s kind of a pathetic thing”

“In the days of DS and Wii, Nintendo tried its best to expand the gaming
population,” he said.

“Fortunately, because of the spread of smart devices, people take games
for granted now. It’s a good thing for us, because we do not have to
worry about making games something that are relevant to general people’s
daily lives.”

I hope this is bad translation or a joke.

 

Miyamoto Throws The Malstrom Gamer Under The Bus

Master Malstrom,

It’s finally happened. The “Game Gods” are openly revealing themselves to be little more than naked emperors. In a recent interview with Edge, Shigeru Miyamoto was quoted as saying the following:
“Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me it’s kind of a pathetic thing. They do not know how interesting it is if you move one step further and try to challenge yourself [with more advanced games].”
I’m sure I’m not the only one that read this as a thinly-veiled “Your opinions, as customers, mean nothing. Worship what we do or go away.” What’s more telling is the reaction from the “industry” and the “hardcore,” who are outright cheering the comment.
This man is beyond toxic now. Nintendo will be better when he is gone.
 .
I cannot believe what Miyamoto just said
I…. I can’t believe it.  Nintendo has just added insult to injury.  First they shit on Wii customers such as myself who LOVED the Wii Remote by releasing that massive abomination of a GamePad, then they call the expanded audience “pathetic.”

This is just… surreal.  I have never seen such CONTEMPT from a company toward its customers.

Miyamoto is flat-out saying that he doesn’t like being told “I’m the customer.  Entertain me.”  Instead, he wants it the other way around.  He’s the “genius” who is going to tell the audience what to like and to find “interesting.”

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/475384/miyamoto-explains-nintendos-renewed-passion-for-the-core/

How can anyone deny what you’ve been saying for years?  It’s impossible to deny now.  Nintendo HATES 2D Mario fans, classic Zelda fans, classic Metroid fans, Wii Sports fans… I’m getting a headache listing them all.

At this point I’m almost ashamed to have purchased a Wii U, even though it was for 2D Mario and Donkey Kong.

FUCK YOU NINTENDO.

It just occurred to me
That Miyamoto interview – that’s the anger stage of Nintendo Grief that you identified about a year ago or whenever.  And my god is it angry.Holy shit did you ever call it.  Nintendo is PISSED at the low Wii U sales (and probably 3DS sales too) and is now attacking Wii owners directly.I forget, what’s the next stage?  Acceptance?  I want that one.

Miyamoto finally reveals his intentions away from “casual gamers”

Don’t have time to actually read the article right now, but the neogaf thread has some key quotes: http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=883232

Example 1:

“[These are] the sort of people who, for example, might want to watch a movie. They might want to go to Disneyland,” he said.Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me it’s kind of a pathetic thing. They do not know how interesting it is if you move one step further and try to challenge yourself [with more advanced games].”Miyamoto’s comments mark the first time a Nintendo executive, and a longstanding member on its board of directors, has publicly outlined intentions to shift away from casual customers.

Example 2:
In an age where Apple and Android smartphones have become the leading games platforms for the casual audience, Miyamoto says Nintendo no longer needs to reach out to those customers.“In the days of DS and Wii, Nintendo tried its best to expand the gaming population,” he said.“Fortunately, because of the spread of smart devices, people take games for granted now. It’s a good thing for us, because we do not have to worry about making games something that are relevant to general people’s daily lives.”

Nintendo disdain for customers continues
Hello Master Malstrom,Interesting tid-bit about Aonuma re-defining the meaning of “open world” to suit his own personal desires for how Zelda U will turn out. Thanks for posting it for your readers to see. I also caught this interesting interview today from Miyamoto. It just…reeks, but of course our Hardcore Friends are singing Miyamoto’s praises because he’s trying to appeal to them. I don’t think any of Miyamoto’s quotes here will come as a shock to you, Malstrom:“[These are] the sort of people who, for example, might want to watch a movie. They might want to go to Disneyland,” he said.

“Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me it’s kind of a pathetic thing. They do not know how interesting it is if you move one step further and try to challenge yourself [with more advanced games].”

I can see him sneering while he says this. “Customer? You want to be entertained? Not on my watch! YOU, pathetic customer, need to stretch yourself to attain MY definition of challenge and creativity”. He goes on to say,

“In the days of DS and Wii, Nintendo tried its best to expand the gaming population,” he said.

“Fortunately, because of the spread of smart devices, people take games for granted now. It’s a good thing for us, because we do not have to worry about making games something that are relevant to general people’s daily lives.”

Fortunately? He says FORTUNATELY Nintendo lost their grip on their most profitable and prolific market because…bingo! Now he gets to make the games he wants. And what is QoL if not “something that [is] relevant to general people’s daily lives”? I’m so confused why this man is allowed to speak.

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/475384/miyamoto-explains-nintendos-renewed-passion-for-the-core/

Miyamoto: the non hardcore is stupid

Have you seen this? Miyamoto gone crazy?
The blue ocean strategy produce their 2 best selling products ever!
And how the hardcore-focused-opponents ran last generation? Sony with massive losses due PS3… why on Earth a company want to do the same as their worst (in sense of poor market performance) opponent?
 .
Miyamoto hate “casual” gamers

Probably someone already sent this for you, but… whatafuck? Miyamoto revealed his true face.

 .
Miyamoto is fed up making games for “passive audience”; excuse me?
Malstrom, I believe you understand Miyamoto better than most, you get any of this?Nintendo Not As Interested In Making Games For “Passive” Audiences Says MiyamotoBecause I sure as hell don’t. What’s that even supposed to mean? Passive audience? Those that want to watch to movies? I don’t recall Nintendo making films instead of movies unless Miyamoto wants to include the crap he gave us like Mario Galaxy or Wii Music, but then, wouldn’t that be his fault in the first place?

Or is it something else? Lord knows I don’t respect the man anymore, but, is he trying to blatantly shame us into buying his bullshit equivalence of “passive audience” == “I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me”. Is that what this is about? Because if so, Miyamoto, go fuck yourself. I don’t have an obligation to accept your bullshit terminology, even less your snide insinuation that “passive bad, active good; you don’t want to be bad, do you?”. Malstrom, could Miyamoto be projecting his “I am the developer. You are supposed to accept whatever I give you”?

Anyway, sorry about that fit of rage; perhaps you understand better what’s going on, and if so, please tell me. For me, Miyamoto’s credibility has been in the toilet since a long time ago, but if this is what I mentioned before, well, I hope his self-aggrandizement fantasies get crushed.

 .
The Prophet Malstorm continues to be right

They live and bleed money for the Gamecube HD, the article brings up Wii Sports/Fit as massive successes while not mentioning Mario 5 probably because it disrupts their bogus narrative. If this shift towards the hardcore was a recent idea then the Wii U wouldn’t have shipped as the antithesis to the Wii, it was made to be the hardcore Nintendo fan’s dreambox and look what that is doing for them!

They’re also putting out a bunch of Mario Kart 8 DLC that might be interesting but with no proper account in sight why the hell should we care? It would be like putting out Super Mario Kart on a cart made of very fragile glass, the content on it is good but not enough to make up for how frail it’s medium is.
 .
Miyamoto wants to focus on “core” gamers
Well it’s official, Nintendo doesn’t care about all the work they did with the Wii and their expanded audience.
After all hardcore gamers are easy to please and like the games that developers want to make.  Hardcore love 3D Mario, puzzle Zelda, cut scenes and games that hold their hands.  Citing the same “casual audience would rather play mobile games” that the trolls on forums babbled on since the WiiU debuted.
 .
And that is not all the emails on this subject! I don’t think anyone here is ‘surprised’ he said it, they are more surprised at his audacity. Miyamoto reminds me more of the Wizard of Oz:
 .
Above: “Behold! I am the wizard called Miyamoto! My words are the reality! Not sales numbers, not business strategies, nothing but my word alone! I am more revered than even the Pope! I am The Miyamoto! Behold!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Categories

