Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 29, 2014

Email: Edge Quote

Dear Master Malstrom,

After seeing your post about the Edge magazine cover I wanted to see for it for myself.  After a quick search I found it and a small article discussing the content of the magazine.  In it I saw a quote from Miyamoto himself and it is just enraging.  It is one of those quotes that you can’t help but feel the disdain that he has for the “casual” consumer.

 

“[These are] the sort of people who, for example, might want to watch a movie. They might want to go to Disneyland
Their attitude is, ‘okay, I am the customer. You are supposed to entertain me.’ It’s kind of a passive attitude they’re taking, and to me it’s kind of a pathetic thing. They do not know how interesting it is if you move one step further and try to challenge yourself [with more advanced games].”

How am I supposed to feel as a consumer toward this entertainment company?  Yes by god Nintendo you are supposed to entertain me.  If you want me to use my power as a consumer and spend my money on your products they damn well better be entertaining.
What one step further is he even talking about?  Nintendo fears games that are fun and rewarding/challenging for the player.  We have seen this over and over with the modern era of Nintendo.  I want games that are fun to play and keep me entertained.  I don’t want games that feel frustrating or feel like a chore.  I have enough work in my life and gaming shouldn’t be work.  So where is he trying to go with this?   Is he still frustrated that the “artistic” games or 3D worlds aren’t being picked up by consumers that they want to put out?
There are so many posts on your blog that come to mind, whether that the consumer of Nintendo of old is craving craftsmanship and content in modern Nintendo games, or the force feeding of 3D to us.
I know you are getting blown up by emails on this subject, but god can they alienate their customers any more?
They should just create a 3D platformer that is only available on the “New” 3DS starring the abomination Tingle making Japanese references in a cutesy anime eyed world, with every power up from Super Mario 3 and have a budget that is mind blowing calling it their magnum opus just to get this over with.  Just to piss off the world enough so maybe we can get someone in that company that can the job.
.
I wonder if the macro-economic situation is contributing to this. Instead of focusing on getting their money from many customers, Nintendo may be shifting to milk as much money as possible from a FEW passionate customers. However, this is not a sustainable model.

Categories

