Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 29, 2014

Email: NES top list

Master Malstrom –

I’d probably have trouble naming my top 10 NES games, let alone 30. I was way, way more into the SNES. That said, here are a bunch of my favorites:

TIER 1
Contra – I’ve played this game so much that I could probably beat it with my eyes closed. I don’t even need the code to beat it, even today.
Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!! – if you want to see a grown man grin like an idiot for half an hour, then yell and curse when he hits Super Macho Man, put me in front of this game.
Zelda II – We’ve discussed this one at length.
Life Force – I’ve never owned this one, but I’ve borrowed it for months at a time, and it never gets old.
Blaster Master – Kickass music, kickass gameplay hook, never could beat it since you had to do it in one sitting and that stupid crab in World 5 always owned me, but love it to death anyway. It’s like a fusion of Metroid and Zelda.
Mega Man 2/3 – they’re both great, so I’m not picking a favorite.
Super Mario 2/USA – Lots of fun and great music.
Super Mario Bros. 3 – I have yet to completely play through this one (beaten it many times with warp whistles). I should fix that.
Metroid – When I was a kid, I could never get much further than getting the ice beam and first missile in Norfair. I was terrified of what lurked below. After I got Metroid Prime, I played through all of it, start to finish, with no help. I’m glad I did, because I’ve become very fond of it as a result. Some of the best music on the NES too, next to Mega Man 2.

TIER 2
Spy Hunter – that 8-bit Peter Gunn theme rocks. So does seeing how long you can make it driving at maximum speed, while running blue cars off the road and shooting down helicopters the whole time. Making it to the boats is an accomplishment, but the boat isn’t nearly as fun.
Balloon Fight – I know it’s just a Joust ripoff, but I played this game first, and I love it.
RC Pro-Am – I’m surprised no one mentioned this one. One of Rare’s early gems. It’s a lot of fun even if the yellow car is a cheating bastard.
TMNT 2: The Arcade Game – My brothers and I were in the throes of Turtlemania when this came out, and we loved being able to power through this without blowing 20 bucks at the arcade every time.
Battletoads – everyone bitching about the speeder bike level seriously needs to shut up. That was easy compared to later stuff in the game. Still have never beaten this one, but I like to pretend to try every once in a while.

 

Guys, don’t put two games for one. Out of thirty games, you can put them all out there. If you like both Mega Man 2 and 3, then place them as separate games.

If you can’t find 30 games, then you need to play the NES more. I own 27 NES games currently and want to buy 50 more. Finding 30 awesome NES games is very easy because I can easily think of 70.  NES was that big of a juggernaut. It had a monopoly on all console games for the Third Generation.

Unless there is 30, I’m not putting the list up.


Categories

