Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 30, 2014

Email: NES Games tier list

I totally forgot about Flinstones! I remember playing it twice – once at a friends, then a rental because I had so much fun with it (rentals alone were difficult for me to get back then). That definitely would go into at least tier 2 for me… I also think GI Joe probably needs to go into tier 3…  too many “lost gems” keep surfacing!

What’s up with you and NES games? I still think 16-bit is where it’s at, but let’s see if I can make a list of 30 NES games I’ve actually played…

Tier I:
Kirby’s Adventure
Super Mario Bros. 3
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2
Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!
Super Mario Bros. 2
Mega Man 6
DuckTales 2
Chip and Dale 2
Double Dragon II
Eliminator Boat Duel

Tier II:
Baseball Simulator 1000
River City Ransom
Darkwing Duck
Chip and Dale
DuckTales
Mega Man 2
Mega Man 3
Mega Man
Tiny Toon Adventures 2

Tier III:
Tiny Toon Adventures
Mega Man 4
Mega Man 5
Captain Skyhawk
Base Wars
Ninja Gaiden
Batman
Journey to Silas
The Legend of Zelda
Super Mario Bros./Duck Hunt
Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels
Zelda II: The Adventure of Link
Metal Gear
The Bugs Bunny Birthday Blowout

Wow actually the problem was figuring out which games to cut! I cheated a bit at the end and included a few more. In all honesty though I probably wouldn’t have too much interest in playing many of the games in tier 2 or below anymore… too many sequels on 16-bit platforms I’d rather play instead…

Tiny Toon Adventures? Hmm…

Yeah, I remember Bigfoot. I should try replaying it.

 

 


Categories

