Posted by: seanmalstrom | September 6, 2014

Aonuma is surprised people love Hyrule Warriors’ cinematics

Poor Aonuma!

But one of the things that leaves me with rather complicated feelings is that people are saying, “Oh wow, I really love the cutscenes in this game! This is better than the stuff Nintendo does!” Of course, that leaves me a little conflicted, and gives me a mission now to make sure that the new Zelda game that I’m working on can hold its own in that aspect against Hyrule Warriors!

What are the cinematics? Reader, let us take a look!

That is just the opening cinematic. 

So why are people responding so well to the cutscenes? This is easy.

1) They are all depictions of high fantasy. No tropical island funky bullshit stuff here.

2) The characters all look cool.

3) Link has a sword.

4) Villains are highlighted. They are marching and are portrayed as evil.

5) War is showcased which allows heroism to bubble forth. The player wishes to be a hero, hence the necessity of combat and war.

I am really digging the art style for this game. It is so much better than Aonuma’s crap.

Hyrule Warriors

Above: This is what I’m talking about! Link looks bad ass. Zelda looks bad ass. We can even see evil dragon and other nasties to slay. This is the spirit of how Zelda actually is, not this.

I want to hear reviews of the game, obviously, but I’m pretty impressed by this. If it is considered fun and replayable, I’m interested in buying it. I’m more interested in it than Aonuma’s Zelda U trainwreck (as probability is concerned he will make a trainwreck. Spirit tracks was trainwreck literally).

BTW, the below is very cool. It makes me want to buy Hyrule Warriors, and I don’t own a Wii U!


Categories

