Posted by: seanmalstrom | March 14, 2015

Email: The Good and Bad Indies

Dear Master Malstrom,

.
I’m sharing this e-mail in two parts only to fit the title, so here I go:
.
I) The Good
.
I don’t know If you are aware of Five Nights at Freddy’s games. If you are not, this is the plot: you are a night watch who is working in a Chuck E. Cheese like restaurant with haunted animatronics. Your objective is to stay alive until 6 am, for five nights. The animatronics kill you with a jumpscare scene. You can’t kill them and your only actions (it is a point-and-click game) are watching the security cameras and, depending on which game you play (I’ll be on this soon), some very limited actions. The interesting thing is:
.
1) I believe there is something in this game. It is a phenomenon in Youtube mainly with the many, many videos of jumpscaring (don’t try to see it at work as I did). I won’t put any link here because I believe you must see for yourself (but beware with the jumpscare);
.
2) The whole trilogy was made by only one guy – by the way, he is Texan;
.
3) I don’t know how much was the profit he made with them, but if he made two sequels it means it was at least profitable enough  – mainly because he made them in only seven months.
.
4) The mechanics of the sequels are quite different from one game to another, but you still fells you are playing the same game, in the same way SMB3 was from SMB (for not saying I’m promoting the game: I found them too complex to me);
.
5)He achieved the creation of a whole universe. The amount of the discussion of FNAF universe can be comparable with Zelda one. And this with only seven months, which is a prodigy.
.
II) The Bad
.
You must see this
.
.
Really, my first impression when I saw it was that I was seeing a “Brave New World” trailler. Everything is so bright, so colorful (mainly their hairs…) sooo “cutting edge”… And they have even a transparent wagon! Plus, if you note well, some of them really looked high with “soma”…
.
PS: “True Believer” was really good, thanks for the recommendation. I hope I can see his “The Ordeal of Change” (which Hoffer himself considered his best book) still in this year.

.

In that video, not a single person was wearing a suit. Every male there looked like he was dressed as a little boy.


Categories

