Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 17, 2015

Email: About Super Mario Maker

This game is the first one that almost makes me want to go out and buy a Wii U. Almost. If Nintendo makes a Wii U bundle with it included (and they’d be dumb not to, especially around Christmas season), then I probably would.

I mean, it’s not perfect, but it’s something people have asked Nintendo for for 30 years and they’ve finally relented. That said, I do have some problems with it.

First, as you’ve said, there’s no way to make a map or anything like that. It looks like the most you can do is chain four levels together into a “world” that you can play yourself or share with others.

Next are the Amiibo-only features, one of which only works with a 8-bit Mario that will probably quickly sell out (it is included in a limited edition pack of the game though).

And finally, one big problem I have in the levels I’ve seen made are the over reliance on “puzzles”. Not the fun kind but the “kill you instantly if you do it wrong” ones that are all over the place, and I have the feeling that most of the downloaded levels will be this kind which will be especially irritating in “100 Mario Challenge”.

But one thing I can see with this Mario game, that I haven’t in a long time, is an actual sense of a soul and real fun with all the different things you can do.

 

It is very telling that the only thing that looks fun from Nintendo E3 is a 2d Mario level editor. It not only tells us that 2d Mario is consistently fun (much to Miyamoto’s disappointment), but that Nintendo has done little to nothing in terms of gameplay innovation for new game products.

It is 30 years later and the best Nintendo can offer is 2d Mario. Really now?

Other game companies can surpass their earlier games. To use Origin as an example, I thought Ultima III was the shit. Then Ultima IV came out. Then Ultima VII and Ultima Underworld. Then Wing Commander. Then Ultima Online. You get the point. Origin was not offering an ‘Ultima Editor’ using Ultima III graphics. They were investing in new gameplay.

Blizzard is another such company. I thought Warcraft 2 was the shit. Starcraft was great too. Diablo too. I thought that was the zenith of the company. Then World of Warcraft came out, and I said “Wow.” Right now, I am seeing the rise of such games like Hearthstone and even Heroes of the Storm which I never imagined the company would make.

And this brings us to the problem with Nintendo… (see post above)


Categories

