Posted by: seanmalstrom | July 3, 2015

Reggie talks about E3 2015

This doesn’t work. The reason why is that Reggie cannot represent himself, and he is using too much ‘shop talk’. Reggie Fils-Aime is Nintendo. He cannot be ‘independent gamer’. No one really cares about Reggie’s feelings, about what he finds enjoyable or not enjoyable. I only care what I find enjoyable and not enjoyable as well as other gamers. Youtube personalities I also don’t care about since E3 is such a more closed event than it used to be.

Reggie, if you have to say Nintendo is ‘special’, then it isn’t special.

The shop talk I mean is Reggie referring to the ‘showfloor’. No one sees ‘show floor’. We just think of games. We don’t think in those marketing terms.

But as I’ve said in the past, I don’t really care about Miyamoto’s field trips or what gives developers ‘inspiration’. As far as their games are concerned, I haven’t seen any real inspired titles since the 16 bit era. It’s the same game over and over again. I do not care what gives Nintendo developers ‘fun’. I only care what gives ME fun. I only care what gives other gamers fun.

Yeah, I’m selfish. But I’m also the only one paying.

Nintendo World Event was a success because it revolved around gamers, not around developers.


Categories

