Posted by: seanmalstrom | September 28, 2015

Email: VR, flop or success?

Greetings Master Malstrom,

I’m wondering, what is your view on the current VR craze hitting the Hardcore.

Personally I think the whole thing is another flop, similar to what happened a few years back with 3D.

When I look at it, I think it’s too expensive, asking people to shell out 3 or 4 hundred on top of a console or high end PC is not something that will have wide market appeal.  Add in the fact that only one person can use it at a time, and I don’t see many families willing to shell out the big bucks.

The cheaper versions, such as the Samsung VR reduce the cost, but 100 dollars is still a lot, and they still require an expensive phone (one which isn’t selling well anyways, Samsung Galaxy sales have fallen off), and offer much less functionality, so I don’t see it taking off either.

But that’s just my view, I wanted to see what’s your view on the potential for VR, is it the new age of gaming the Hardcover think, or is it just another pipe dream like 3D tv was?

 

You have your answer. VR has been done before. Just because we have NEW TECHNOLOGY doesn’t mean VR is now going to take off. We have NEW TECHNOLOGY for 3d output (e.g. 3DS) and 3d output did not take off.

NEW TECHNOLOGY does not equal new sales. We do have history of seven generations (several decades) of video games to study. What we need is ‘new entertainment’, not NEW TECHNOLOGY.

I heard a hardly-core orgasm: “After work, I put on my VR and played Grand Theft Auto 5. I just drove around while listening to the car’s radio. It was amazing.” I can do the same thing with a real car and a real radio inside it. The immersion will never be beat by VR or any other technology. The problem is with the games as it always has been.

The critical failure of VR is that not everyone wants to separate from the real world. One of the key reasons why the Wii succeeded, and why the hardcore hated it, was that the ‘New Audience’ were of those who did not want to enter a fantasy wonderland. They did not seek immersion. Not every gamer wants to play adventures or to immerse themselves in a fantasy world. Hardcore gamers are making the mistake that everyone does. VR goggles mean that the vast audience of those who do not want to separate from the real world cannot be reached thus making VR another generational gimmick. Watch and see.


Categories

