Posted by: seanmalstrom | October 6, 2015

Email: Number 1 Manual

Hello Master Malstrom

Thank you for reading my previous post. I do agree that game manuals should return, if game companies are so scared of using paper or investing money on manuals, why not include a small separate file on the disc?

Not only could you have a manual once again without depleting the rain forest, but you could also have something to read while you await your 10 minute installation time/update, its a win-win situation for only a small amount of work. It’d also be a good way to “inject story” without harming your games pacing. And I’m confident that a manual would be much cheaper to type, re-translate, and throw on the disc than hiring 3-5 writers for hours of cut-scenes, but then again it’d be harder for game makers to show us their holy “genius”.

Which, on the note of holy “genius”, leads me to my next point:

You’ve spoken at one point on “Toxic” Heroes of the Storm players, in bot matches, I’ve found the worst players to be the ones that have been playing it for quite a bit, the ones with a high hero league even, the ones that main lazy-ass Heroes like Nova and Hammer “I’m pushing 90k siege and I get no peel, ffs guys”.

Yesterday I had the chance to deal with what may’ve been one of the more toxic players I’ve seen, a Tassadar with a $15 skin, Rank 1 in Hero. They ping for help defending their lane (several times), I joke ping something else, so they ping more and respond “Tunnel Vision much?”, the rest of the match was just them pinging and getting bitter only because I jokingly said “u mad bro?”, as I pushed objectives and helped out.

This super special Tass glued his lane all match, died several times, and nothing more. Mister holy tunnel vision seemed to think Blackhearts Bay had just one lane. After the game I told the guy to take a break (obviously he was mad about something from before).

I rarely ever deal with “troll players” or anything of the sort, my own trolling is only limited to pointing out players who contradict their own orders .and boy do they love being told that!

Its the high rankers, the “E-Sports”, the “hardcore” that’re the real toxic in Heroes. The more bars, the more money dumped into skins, the more sense of self-importance they get.

Compare this to a fairly new Slyvannas a friend of mine played with in bots, at the start they said “Just so you guys know I’m new to Slyv”, after that they played very well, and unlike most Slyvs made an effort to use their E correctly (rather than spamming it to lightly hurt minions).

I think if we’re going to improve gaming we need to make more gamers, not revert it back into a “defensive bubble-cult”, thats how you alienate people. They ask for Chocolate Ice Cream, you shout at them “But I put so much work into this new Mayonnaise flavor! Buy it or GTFO away from my truck!”.

We much eliminate the hardcore!

Thanks for reading

 

Just because they are Rank 1 doesn’t mean they are good. The real question is what is their MMR? Regardless, my experience has always been that the worst players were the ‘hardley-cores’. They weren’t the 1%. They were better than the average player. But they WANTED to be the 1% and thought they were at that level. Yet, they weren’t. They couldn’t handle their emotions and setbacks. Professional players play professionally. They do not rage.

I love Heroes, but I got tired of interacting with the other players. It stopped being fun. As in WoW, I did not like how other people determined my game experience.

What I need to do is create a group of Internet gaming friends as I used to do back in the 1990s. The reason why I cannot do that today is because of the vast age difference between myself and other players and because games are more sensitive to skill level. What the skill sensitivity means is that I would shoot up and outpace everyone. They would get angry at me or not.

You know what has fucked online gaming up? All these goddamn ladders and E-penises. We didn’t have that a long time ago. We played RTS games mostly for fun. People who did ladder were a niche and separated from everyone else.

The reason for the E-peen is because they are underemployed. There are no active business owners, top notch engineers, or other mover and shaker in the top 50 of the ladder. “But Malstrom, has there ever been such people getting high scores?” There has been. Steve Wozniak, of Apple fame, kept getting the top score in Tetris in Nintendo Power.

Seriously, look at Wozniak go:

I mean he has that ‘interesting man in the world’ moment when he starts bringing in world leaders. WTF!? hahahahaha.

I find that hardcore gamers are those who do not have much money or real world status. It is why they are trying to get status in a virtual environment. I respect the guy in the basement playing Pac-Man forever to get the super-duper high score, but let’s not kid ourselves. These are video games, not status vehicles. The hardcore gamer is the equivalent of the female attention whore on Social Media. It is the desire of status, of celebrity, of trying to find value in non-value.

If you have value as a human being, you do not need a video game to validate yourself. Hardcore gamers need video games to validate themselves as worthy human beings because they feel they may not be worthy human beings. I am serious! It is a very serious form of depression. What the hardcore gamer needs to do is get a real job and find status and achievement in the real world. Then he will see video games as they properly are. I don’t say this in meanness about the hardcore gamer. I say this with concern for a human being. Video games offer escapism from the real world and can offer the illusion of achievement. This can be very good and fun. But it can also be very dangerous and toxic. Former World of Warcraft players know exactly what I am talking about.

If video game companies keep pushing, and pushing, the illusion of achievement with all these experience bars and crap, I predict you will begin to see punitive action taken by governments. First, studies will come out showing such use of gaming to be toxic to health and life progress. Then the laws will come. “But games are speech, blah blah blah.” The state can argue that it has a ‘compelling interest’ to do so. A much better solution would be for the video game industry to stop taking advantage of low status people.

As for game manuals, I love the idea of finding out the lore and story of the game OUTSIDE the game (where it belongs). Whether this be on game manuals or something else, I do not care.

I also think the biggest vehicle for story telling is the music. Hey, it works in the movies which they so badly want to emulate. This is why the early games were so effective because the music was so good.

Can you hear the story, reader?

How about this one?

Or this?

Oh how I could go on!


Categories

