Posted by: seanmalstrom | January 20, 2016

Email: Cartridges

You are so damn right about cartridges.

I recently had a conversation with a friend of mine about how much I love cartridges, how awesome and durable they are.

I imported a Super Famicom and started importing games like a freak (Japanese games are usually cheaper). I am loving it. I hooked that bitch up, inserted the cartridge and bang, there I was, ready to enjoy some great games. NO freaking menus, no signing in, no loading, no bullshit. Just the game screen. “Aw, the games are all in Japanese”. Who cares? The games I play, I don’t have to read shit anyways. Over 20 years and the games all work just fine.

Anyway, I was telling my friend that I was convinced that if Nintendo went back to cartridges for their home console, with the right games, a good marketing, and great packaging (I love game manuals) they would have unbelievable success.

I have a feeling that it’s not gonna happen but, I really do hope that is how they will differentiate themselves from the competition for the next gen.

 

It is also something that is *very Nintendo* and something Microsoft and Sony will never do. Ever.

Nintendo is chasing profit, not gamers. This puts Nintendo is a bad position to become disrupted. It feels good to chase the lucrative profit, but competitors rise from nowhere to gobble it up. I prefer Nintendo to aim at the bottom of the market, not the top.

The macroeconomic environment that the NX will be born into is insanely bad. Economically, things are getting worse every day.

 


Categories

