Posted by: seanmalstrom | January 23, 2016

Email: Nuclear Throne on GoG

Master Malstrom,
.
I recently picked up a new indie game on GOG called Nuclear Throne. You might want to take a good look at it:
.
.

At first I was skeptical, but after picking it up and running through it a few times I got hooked very quickly. The creators managed to combine aspects of both Roguelikes and Run n’ Gun arcade shooters, trim away the excess and come up with a simple, yet incredibly addicting game. It’s basically Ikari Warriors / Shock Troopers with randomized levels and passive abilities; no pretentious junk, just shoot to kill with a wide arsenal of weapons while using the terrain to your advantage.

.

Best moment in the game: when one of the random tooltips on the loading screen says “If only you could talk to the monsters”. Incredibly frank “Take That” towards most modern narrative-centric games if I may say so.

.
I haven’t tried Nuclear Throne.
.
I’ve been playing much of Shadowgate (the one that came out in 2014). Of course, I only play on Master because I am the Master. If you liked the original NES Shadowgate, I recommend it. The music is orchestra. So yummy!
.

Categories

