Posted by: seanmalstrom | January 26, 2016

A game collection I can get behind!

This guy collected every Wii game. He is a smart man.

What many people do not realize is that ‘shovelware’ is prominent on every successful system and is worse on the PlayStation systems. The Wii will be one of the best game systems to collect for. People who do not understand this are those who do not understand video games (there! I said it!). “Why do you say that?” Wii is UNIQUE. There will never be another system like the Wii. The Wii’s mass market games will resonate larger in time. Wii Sports will still be played twenty years from now.

When you think of the SNES library, you, the hardcore gamer, go, “Oh, that is the console for SUPER METROID and CHRONO TRIGGER.” But Super Metroid and Chrono Trigger were not true success stories on the system. When you look at SNES’s launch line up, it is incredible to the gamer. But the market is not made up of gamers. Super Mario World, Castlevania IV, F-Zero, Gradius III, Actraiser, Simcity, Super Ghouls and Ghosts, and Pilotwings are very cool games, but the SNES was losing ground to the Genesis. Do you know why, dear reader? It is because Genesis owned the sports games. Nintendo later flooded the SNES with children software and other crap you don’t want BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT MAKES THE SYSTEM SELL.

You, the beautiful reader, do not remember the shovelware on the SNES. You only remember the games you like. Therefore, you only remember Super Metroid and Chrono Trigger.

The bad Wii games will be forgotten and the good ones will be the ones people are after. When you buy games for the system, you are actually only interested in the good games. The ratio of shovelware is irrelevant. What matters is the number of good games. The increase in so-called shovelware increases the number of good games.

One person’s shovelware is another person’s reason to buy the system. Do not doubt me on this.

Nintendo understands this. So does Microsoft and Sony.

Wii will join the collector’s paradise.

The console I see that will suffer the most will be Wii U. What are the good games on it? Without the online components and digital downloads, what can be collected? There isn’t much. The Wii U console experience is not like the Wii or even the SNES. The variety of games isn’t there. Mario Maker will lose all value when Generation 9 rolls around. There’s a reason why Malstrom hasn’t bought one yet. I still will also never, ever buy a N64.

That said, I did just buy Donkey Kong Country for SNES (that price is skyrocketing) and Tetris and Dr. Mario for SNES (such a combo we will never see again. The game is damn good!). I also purchased Mario Kart Double Dash for the Gamecube. Mario Kart is hot stuff for retro gamers. The SNES version of Mario Kart will soon hit $60 despite being the most numerous supply of games on that system.

I can’t imagine any other Wii games I would want than the ones I have. But my buying habits are different.

I also have a habit for buying, during the current generation, the exact games that will skyrocket in cost years later. My greatest challenge is keeping friends and family from stealing my games. It costs so much to replace a game!!!!! Anyway, I think my buying habits hit the collector’s habits because I always ask myself if I will be playing the game in twenty years from now. It seems to work out well.


Categories

