Posted by: seanmalstrom | July 14, 2016

Email: New NES input lag

You asked a question as to whether the new NES will have input lag. Since it uses an HDMI cable, odds are that it naturally uses a progressive scan mode that is not 240p (some HDTVs don’t even support 240p and the Virtual Console doesn’t use it by default). So it’s probably 480p, 720p or 1080p. Maybe it has resolution options. This shouldn’t produce any unnatural input lag since an HDTV won’t have to deinterlace the signal internally (240p signals get misread and deinterlaced by HDTVs). It’ll just depend on the HDTV’s own inherent input lag (there are online input lag databases that rank the best and worst TVs by input lag). Just make sure to select “game mode” on your TV to reduce the lag. Also, the new NES controller apparently plugs into and works with a Wii Remote. I might have to buy myself one of those things for that functionality alone.

As for an SNES mini, I can think of a few games that are not on your list.

First, how about Joe and Mac? That’s a good two-player co-op game.

Also, you forgot about racing games. Why not the Top Gear series (at least the first game. It has badass music) and Super Off Road? Both are good options.

 

Since it isn’t actual hardware, it is going to FEEL off especially with how sensitive twitchy some of the NES games are. I find Super Mario Brothers 3 to be ‘off’ on any hardware but the NES including All-Stars and the Virtual Console version.

Turn based Final Fantasy won’t have any issue so that is worth it for me. Pac-Man might be OK. The rest of the games could be unplayable to NES stalwarts. Even something a little off makes Gradius or Metroid unplayable. It is interesting how twitch sensitive NES games are. On the SNES, the library becomes less twitch.

The SNES list I made wasn’t about games I wanted, but about a more probable list. I used only third party companies that were used with the NES Mini. Licensed games wouldn’t work (Top Gear is probably licensed). NES version of Off Road is better than Super Off Road so I doubt that would make it to a SNES mini. Axelay could be on there. But I doubt Nintendo would include multiple shmups. Axelay or Gradius 3? I do not like games like Super Tennis, but Nintendo might put it on because there needs to be sports games. BTW, why wasn’t Tecmo Super Bowl put on the NES Mini? Licensing issues?

My dream Mini would be one, very small in size, that would be filled with mostly mulitplayer games (and a few RPGs for kicks). We would sneak the Mini into businesses into the break rooms and have Blessed Nintendo Multiplayer Experiences during lunch or wherever.

I would like to see added to NES Mini:

Lifeforce (Konami)

Jackal (Konami)

Yoshi (Nintendo’s game)

Super Dodge Ball (Leland? Probably not available)

River City Ransom (publisher probably wasn’t available for the Mini)

People don’t realize that the NES generation player could buy that Mini and just be delighted with those 30 games for a year or two. “How can anyone just play those games for a year or two?” We did. It takes much time to get good at those games too. Now excuse me while I play Mega Man 1. I feel a retro fix coming upon me.

 

 

 


Categories

