Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 22, 2016

The revolution that was Wing Commander

If someone asked me what was the most industry changing game of all time, without question I would say Wing Commander. I’m writing this post because I am trying to inform a 20 year old about this historical event.

Wing Commander came out in 1990.

These were the games that were released in 1990.

Secret of Monkey Island

Mega Man 3

Commander Keen

And this is Wing Commander

 

To say this game caused a shock is an understatement. We didn’t realize PCs could DO this.

Warren Spector talks about Origin. Spector was also a producer for Wing Commander. He refers to Chris Roberts as someone he ‘was in awe’ of what he was doing.

Anyway, I hear Star Citizen is doing procedural generated star systems but then hand crafting filling in the systems with interesting stuff. Another very famous game did exactly this: Star Control 2.

After Wing Commander, video games ceased to have the center of gravity be around the designer and had the center of gravity be around production. Was this good or bad? I don’t know. But I wouldn’t want to live in a universe without Wing Commander.


Categories

