Posted by: seanmalstrom | October 14, 2016

Splash Lake

One of the joys of the TG 16 is finding games that you make you go… “Someone actually made that?” I mean, they actually sat there, programming and making art, for THAT? No!

I just shake my head when watching this. Who thought it was a good idea to make a game about a leg-less ostrich? I cannot tell if it is genius or madness. “Why did you do this!?” I yell at the developers (who I am sure are looking at this webpage at this very moment). One of the unique things about the TG 16 is you get those moments when you don’t know what the hell you are playing… but it is fun. Parasol Stars is a good example of this phenomenon.


Note the astonishment and wonder in Mark as he exclaims he has no idea what he is playing or what is going on… but it is fun. I dislike anime and typical Japanese trappings, but I do like Japanese madness (like Ouedan for the DS). TG 16 is the console of Japanese madness… the good type. And shmup heaven.

The games make no freaking sense. Decades later, the madness is not dated or equaled. Thank you, Hudson.


