Posted by: seanmalstrom | October 17, 2016

Email: HDMI on older consoles & remaster clarification

One big reason for modding HDMI onto an older console is the bane of arcade gamers everywhere – input lag.

Many TVs (such as my own Toshiba L1350U) have even worse input lag when being fed a video signal from composite, and using “game” mode with such video connections can give an image that’s worse than you’d even get on similarly-sized CRT TV using the old RF signal (my aforementioned L1350U is only a couple inches taller than the Trinitron CRT it replaced).

And unfortunately, TVs no longer seem to come with s-video inputs.

Lastly, I would like you to quickly clarify one thing  regarding game remasters – when you say that Metroid and Metroid 2 could both really use a remaster, you do not mean remakes like Zero Mission and AM2R, correct?
“Hey guys! I modded my NES to hook up with my 8 speaker home theater system! I am the Retro God! I am ready to accept your accolades!”
But the NES has mono sound. It doesn’t matter! I guess I am referring to the ‘over-the-top’ response to some of these older games. When someone tells me they are proud they got their old Pac-Man working on their gigantic HD TV so they can view Pac-Man in 60 inches or more, I see they are not really into gaming. There is no point for Pac-Man to be that large of size. “4k TV for my Pac-Man game!” And how many colors does Pac-Man have? Like 16?
Yeah, the lag sucks.
I haven’t tried AM2R. Zero Mission is absolutely not what I am talking about. Many gamers today do not understand Metroid, especially one Sakamoto. Zero Mission was a ret-con on Metroid to turn it into something very different than what it was.
Metroid’s name is based off the words ‘android’ meaning robot and metro meaning ‘long corridors’. Metroid, on the NES and even Gameboy, was not intended for the general masses. Metroid is the ‘experienced gamer game’. Metroid is designed to be excruciatingly hard with endless secrets and mystery. Zero Mission turns Metroid into a bad adventure game (complete with intermissions and stealth level at the end!). To play Metroid was to get lost repeatedly and die often. There were fake bosses, fake walls, and the game really cheated the player in so many ways to deliver that challenge. The value of the game was that difficulty. When I rented Super Metroid, I was disappointed because of how easy that game is. I believe Super Metroid did so well with future generations (despite essentially bombing when it was released in 1994 and not having a new Metroid game until Prime and Fusion) was because of how easy Super Metroid is.
Imagine Legend of Zelda or Zelda 2 being put out again by Aonuma. Aonuma would re-interpret Zelda 1 and 2 to be about talking to NPCs, doing puzzles, and doing it top down (or side view in Zelda 2).
One interesting idea they could do is make Metroid Prime Trilogy in the Super Metroid-esque game engine. That could actually be pulled off. How hard would that be to do? It beats another Federation Force or Other M.


