Posted by: seanmalstrom | October 21, 2016

Email: Engadget impression

This is from an editor of Engadget that used to play games before the 3D generation came in. I honestly believe Nintendo is on to something and possibly learned a lot from the NES and Wii. Will this be the new Wii phenomenon? Probably not, but as long as they can attract older gamers and hopefully a unified account system that will play over 25 years of Nintendo games, this will be a seller.

https://www.engadget.com/2016/10/20/nintendo-switch-first-thoughts/
James Trew
Deputy Managing Editor

There’s going to be lots of talk today about what the Switch means for Nintendo, what it means for consoles and what it means for the future of gaming. Or something. All I know is what it means for me: It’ll be the first home console I’ll buy in nearly 20 years. I mean it: I’ve not had a gaming console under my TV since the Super Nintendo. OK, I briefly owned a Wii (for a review) and lived in shared houses with Xbox/PlayStations, but nothing’s convinced me to part with my cash for a long while. Switch, on the other hand, pushes all of my buttons — in a good way.

I’ve not been abstaining from games since the SNES, obviously. I mostly play retro or handheld consoles (and retro handhelds, especially). So the idea that I could return to modern home gaming and get a new handheld makes Switch a no-brainer for me. The fact that it’s Nintendo just sweetens the deal. There’s something else I like about Switch too. The Wii and Wii U weren’t … terrible, but the smurfy design and the cutesy Mii characters, etc. didn’t resonate with me. Switch seems to shed some of that overt softness for a slightly more grown-up feel while still looking, somehow, “Nintendo.”

 

He is speaking too soon. We haven’t seen the OS. Amiibos are staying, so I assume Miis probably are as well (especially if they are present in games like Mario Kart 8). I do like his description of a ‘smurfy design’

 

Yes. Well. That does, indeed, capture the Wii and Wii U! “La la la la laaaaaa!”

Categories

