Posted by: seanmalstrom | January 13, 2017

Email: Switch Presentation Thoughts

You probably are full of these e-mails already, one more won’t hurt, right?

Presentation:
I actually thought it was quite weak. The Nintendo website has way more information than the presentation itself, makes me wonder why they announced the event almost two months ago. On the website you can even find out there will be a driving wheel-shaped holder for the JoyCons.

Controllers:
I liked to see that they have motion controls. Switch games won’t be so focused on those as it was for the Wii, and this is a good thing since now only games that actually make sense to have motion controls will use them (no more “we are adding motion controls because Nintendo told us to”).
HD Rumble may actually be cool to feel once or twice, but I can’t see it becoming a big thing (just like 3D movies). Hopefully it can be fully disabled and won’t hurt the controller’s longevity.

Games:
I liked Arms. A lot. Feels simple enough to play but probably with a lot more depth. It’s also good to see Nintendo trying new characters for new type of games instead of trying to fit a character to a game that doesn’t have anything to do with them.

I also liked Puyo Puyo Tetris. It’s obviously not a system seller, but it looks fun as heck.
Mario Odyssey is meh. The name is cool, and the logo gives a Super Mario World vibe, but the actual footage didn’t pick my attention.

Lastly, I find it funny to see how so many of those “rumours from a reliable leaker” turned out. Zelda being delayed and Mario replacing it as a launch title? Yeah, right.

Glad I’m not the only one who thinks the Tetris game might be cool (though I hate how the Tetris company does Tetris these days).

I don’t want Mario Odyssey. I want Mario Illiad. I want war to erupt with airships and navies and tank squadrons, all that cool stuff you saw in Super Mario Brothers 3, all going at it. I want Koopa Kids leading armies, getting their asses kicked, their names taken. I want absolute destruction of the Mushroom worlds as war erupts. You want a different type of Mario game? Mario jumping around New York is stupid. I like Mario surrounded by nasty war. It’s been done before in Mario 3 and the vibe I think is the best that Mario can offer (e.g. the airship levels, world 8 in mario 3).

I think everyone can agree that Mario Odyssey not going the NSMB route is a GOOD THING.

I am surprised you like Arms.  Guys! We have an Arms fan here! I wonder why Arms is not coming out for launch. Seems odd, don’t you think?

Categories

