Posted by: seanmalstrom | March 5, 2017

Email: Zelda

I had the EXACT same thoughts that you did regarding the game. Funny enough, I’m at the same point you are. I didn’t rush into any camps yet though. I did, however, get blasted by one of those insta-death laser guardians. That’s all I have to say for now. You’re not really looking for reactions at this point anyway, but I figured I’d tell you others are feeling the same way as you.

I don’t want reactions because there are too many ‘Mr. Hardcore’ gamers out there who don’t have jobs. They would spoil it for us.

One difference between BoW “Wow!” and Zelda 1 is that Zelda 1 can be finished in a weekend. Not this game! The game says, “Go over here,” which isn’t that far. 10 hours later, I finally get there! There is so much density in this game. It reminds me of when I first played Vanilla World of Warcraft. So much content. After five hours, I take a little break. Then I find out I barely moved an inch on the map. hahaha.

What is alien are the breakable weapons and gear. The traditional RPG has you going up levels which would make your gear obsolete. Since there are no levels, in BoW “Wow”, your gear eventually just breaks and shatters including the cool stuff. I’m not sure how I feel about this. I wonder how BoW “Wow!” would be if they had a leveling system in it (Zelda 2 had it!). Maybe it is just me getting used to something new. Without levels, this may be putting in truly skilled gameplay. We’ll see.

I think it is safe to say that BoW “Wow!” is beginning to enter ‘social phenomenon’ category. Zelda 1, Zelda 2, Ocarina of Time, and to a lesser extent Link’s Awakening and Link to the Past were social phenomenons. Twilight Princess rode the Wii Sports rocket. Zelda BoW “Wow!” is sold out everywhere it seems on both Switch and Wii U.

Can you imagine if Switch has some more games of this caliber and quality? If I had to use a single word to describe myself, it would be ‘dazzled’. I remember playing the classic games the first time, and this was my reaction. Take an even minor classic such as Blaster Master. I was like, “Yeah, in my badass tank, shooting shit. Yeah.” Then you can get out of the tank. “Whoa!” And you get easily killed doing that. “Oh no!” But then you find out you can enter these doors as your little guy and it goes into a top down view. “OMG!” hahahah.

Looking back at these classics, I think so much of it was the gameplay systems coming in and interacting with one another. Super Mario Brothers had its momentum system. Remember how long it took to realize to hold down the ‘run’ button? “Hey, I jump further when I hold it down!” You start hitting blocks and a star bounces out. “What is that? Whoa!” haha. Or you accidentally press down when on a green pipe and you go down. “WHAT IS GOING ON!!???” You can imagine how the Warp Zone totally tripped us out back then. NES games were doing such crazy things then. But as time went on in the 16-bit on forward, it seemed that the gameplay system was re-used with the additions being cinematics, graphics, or something like that. I think Minecraft was so fresh in part because it offered new gameplay systems.

Is BoW “Wow!” up there with Super Mario World, Super Mario Brothers, Super Mario 64, etc. in terms of being a launch game value? I’d say yes. You’ll easily get 100 hours out of BoW “Wow!”. And then you could replay it a different way!

Categories

