Posted by: seanmalstrom | March 20, 2017

I won’t tell where I am in Breath of the Wild since Internet will laugh at me

I go nowhere in this game. I play for hours and go nowhere. I have beaten the first dungeon, and I have two pieces of flame retarded gear. That should tell the experienced player where I’m at. I am spending most of my time going back to places I’ve been and getting the shrines.

BTW, that flame lizard quest SUCKS. I couldn’t get ten. So I had to beam back (since Link uses Scotty’s teleporter) to a village, sit by a fire for days, then go back to the mining camp, watch the flame lizards dart away again and could only get one or two, then beam back to sit at campfire for days. Then, I return to finally get my tenth lizard.  The lizards shouldn’t be this hard to get. It would have been better if they were slower but more spread out toward dangerous areas like near lava.

Every time I go through a play session of Zelda BoW “Wow!”, I get the same feeling I did when playing an Ultima. An Ultima game was an open world game where you could literally spend a month or two just trying to complete. Each game session, you could point to a hill and go, “Let’s go that way!” and see what adventures would emerge. Strange that Zelda is bringing up this sensation. That Time author also felt Zelda BoW “Wow!” also triggered that feeling. To those who are gushing about Zelda BoW “Wow!” and say, “Best game ever!” probably never played Ultima back when it was new so they cannot compare.

Zelda 1 was the combination of arcade gameplay and RPG gameplay. Zelda 1 and 2 felt very arcade-like which was good. Link to the Past was a disappointment to me because the game was too easy, but still a good game. Zelda has never felt like an Ultima to me so it is strange that it does.

Regardless, I am writing some long blog posts on this subject. The act of writing fires something in your brain, and you make more connections. I am seeing things I didn’t see before, things I am very shocked to see. The reader will see in due time when it is done.

Zelda BoW “Wow!” is making a Switch backlog for me and we are in launch! When am I going to get to Super Bomberman R or Binding of Isaac?

Zelda BoW “Wow!” successfully has that Civilization’s addictive ‘one more turn’ meaning ‘let me done one additional more thing’ which could be cooking, getting a shrine, trying to take down a big monster, finishing a quest, etc. Zelda BoW “Wow!” has flaws, perhaps significant flaws, but none of it can stop the juggernaut of the motherfucking open world content train this game offers. Ultima 7’s combat system was completely broken but none of that mattered with Ultima 7’s shockingly massive open world.

Maybe I am still sucking at Zelda BoW “Wow!”, but I feel the combat doesn’t work. Maybe I need to get better stats and gear. Maybe I just hate 3d combat gameplay. I just go around or run past monsters. Easier that way. It also doesn’t break my weapons!

Categories

