Posted by: seanmalstrom | May 3, 2017

Email: Puyo Puyo Tetris and Limited Run Game Cards

Greetings Master Malstrom,

At your urging, I ordered Puyo Puyo Tetris at a discount (!) with Amazon Prime. It was one of the best game purchases this year. It arrived right before me and my friends went on a weekend trip to the beach, which was a long drive. I played it, you guessed it, with the girls much of the way there. We loved it!

I trusted your advice, but I didn’t think it would be that awesome. It’s insane how this game only has a limited physical release. This thing should be selling millions. With Nintendo’s lack of a trustworthy account system and the push for digital-only, I wonder how many classics like this will be missed because of bad business models.

I wanted to ask, where did you get the info that Puyo Puyo Tetris had a limited physical run?

Other games, like Binding of Isaac, Ultra Street Fighter 2, Namco Museum, and even Rayman Legends, have me concerned that there will be limited physical runs causing major price gouges by scalpers. I’d like to know which ones I should preorder before they get snapped up and resold for way too much.

Thank you, good sir.

Ladies and gentlemen, this emailer here is no basement dwelling nerd. He was playing video games at the beach with girls (what are they, reader!? Ooohhh la la!). I haven’t even played all the games I own, but I think the three must-own games for Switch are: Zelda BoW “Wow!”, Mario Kart 8, and Puyo Puyo Tetris. If you are a fan of Tetris or Dr. Mario type games, you need to get Puyo Puyo Tetris. Luckily, a demo is available to show you some of the awesomeness. Puyo Puyo Tetris will become a ‘legendary’ game, but no one knows it yet! The Tetris license moves on, so this may be the only combination of Puyo puyo and Tetris that we will ever see.

I think Puyo Puyo Tetris being a limited physical run was general knowledge? It is really clear that the price point is different from physical and digital (clearly a no no unless it is a limited special edition). And it came with keychains.

Binding of Isaac will have a different cover for its next run I believe.

Has Been Heroes is a Gamestop exclusive. Not sure if it is limited run or not. Could be.

Disagea 5 will likely be limited run. I need to check that one out. I don’t expect that game to sell well so it will vanish soon to the avalanche of Switch releases down the line.

I don’t think Namco Museum or Raymen Legends would be limited.

Every Atlus game is though. Grab the Atlus games fast.

I don’t expect Ultra Street Fighter 2 to be it either.

I’m checking these releases like a hawk. I know how bad it is to not have the game after the run is gone due to the retro buying scene.

If anyone has a site or information pipeline that shows which of these Switch game releases are limited, please let us know.

Categories

