Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 13, 2017

E3 2017

I have very little to say. It is obvious that Switch is going to sell out throughout the rest of the year. I think *some* of the games will sell, but I think everyone is underestimating the sales potential of third party Switch games such as Skyrim, Rocket League, and others.

Nintendo’s first party on Switch is, in my opinion, incredibly poor. Mario Odyssey looks terrible. I’m not a fan of 3d Mario, but even I was excited for Mario Galaxy. Mario Odyssey looks insanely boring and designed for children.

The delay of Nintendo Online Service may even be due to Switch’s good sales (thanks to Zelda). If Switch wasn’t selling so well, the Online Service would be pushed out.

I don’t see any killer apps or potential killer apps coming from Nintendo. I do think third party games are going to start stealing the spotlight. Watch Skyrim sales. Watch Rocket League sales. Watch Minecraft sales.

My latter half of 2017 purchases will likely be 8th Gen related before they get harder to find.

Categories

