Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 17, 2017

Email: Nintendo is hindering re-sales of physical games

 

I was going through some of my old DS games and found a few I wanted to sell. I usually use Amazon Marketplace for various reasons, and when I wanted to put up a game by Nintendo I got an error message that I have to request a permission to sell those. The problem is that a permission can only be granted if a) you have permission from Nintendo, or b) if you have a proof of purchase listing your name and the product in question and the invoice is no older than half a year or so.

There is no way a regular person can request a permission from Nintendo to re-sell old games, and for a game that’s ten years old and no longer being manufactured it is impossible to have a valid invoice. I contacted Amazon and they told me there is nothing that can be done. This restriction does not apply to DS games not published by Nintendo, so this is intentional. Even if you bought a game recently, if you don’t have an invoice with your name and address on it (for example you bought it in a retail store paying in cash because you don’t your purchases to be tracked by every middleman) you will not be able to sell it.

Nintendo has effectively made it impossible now for me to sell my old games on Amazon Marketplace, but this is not the big issue. Nintendo doesn’t give a rat’s ass about old DS cartridges, those are just collateral damage in a general restriction on Nintendo products. What I mean is, it doesn’t matter that Switch games are now on cartridges if you cannot trade in your cartridges anymore. The used games market has been a thorn in the side of all game companies and there have been various ways of cutting down on the value of physical games, such as “project 10$” by EA, and this is now Nintendo’s attempt.

I guess soon we’ll be back to trading cartridges on flea markets again, at least until Nintendo cracks down on those as well. You know what? Fuck Nintendo, I’m waiting for a Switch flashcart, if Nintendo has no respect for the customer, then why should I have respect for Nintendo either?

 

I have not heard about this until now.

 

Categories

