Posted by: seanmalstrom | July 18, 2017

Email: ARMS ain’t that bad

ARMs is pretty fun. I brought it to two different parties over this past weekend, and it was decently fun for the girls that played. When people first play, they put all their weight into their punches, and one of the girls mentioned it reminded her of kickboxing.

But what’s more important, as you constantly remind all of us, is how it’ll do in the marketplace. ARMs won’t do too well, only because it isn’t that appealing. It’s not unappealing; to my surprise when I put it up on the TV everyone got curious about it. But I can’t see people seeing this on TV and caring that much about it. I had to put it in front of them to get them to give it a try.

I’m not sure what they can do to make ARMs more appealing, as its not that its too kiddy or anything. It’s very… safe. It doesn’t make any big moves, even if it likes to be goofy. People don’t mind playing it, but the game doesn’t make most people want to play it too much more. I could be wrong about that, but I’ll find out after a few months.

For those that like playing stuff against their friends, it’s a decently deep multiplayer game that is built off of solid fighting game fundamentals. It’s fast paced and you don’t hate watching people play it. I’d recommend the game to those who are looking for a versus multiplayer title that’s not just a party game on the Switch, but don’t want to touch a shooter like Splatoon 2 or a puzzle game like Puyo Puyo Tetris. The multiplayer is fun, the online is built in such a way to hide a lot of lag, but the game is light on single player stuff.

 

ARMS won’t do well because of the anime stink. It’s amazing how Street Fighter 2 has none of the anime stink. Perhaps it is due to Capcom being so sporty.

I don’t think I’m going to risk buying an online emphasis game from Nintendo. Damn, there is nothing for me to buy for Switch this entire year. When is Octopath and other RPGs coming out?

Above: Much better than western AAA gaming!

Categories

