Posted by: seanmalstrom | October 16, 2008

More on Wii Music

Here is another Nintendo developer chat on Wii Music. It is a very fun read so if you haven’t read it already, I urge you to do so. Throughout the 80s, I always noticed Nintendo games had some sort of wit and humor about them. They could be something as simple as watching goombas and turtles march forward and fall off a cliff. There was a subtle humor in all of it. When I read these Nintendo developer interviews, it makes me realize that these Nintendo employees are almost all very witty and humorous. The part of the interview when Miyamoto shows up had me laughing out loud, and I had to double check the webpage to make sure I wasn’t reading some very cleverly written pun.

As expressed in the interview, Wii Music is really about the joy of playing music from a musician’s perspective but made so a non-musician doesn’t have to know all the things of music and the practice to make it work. This is why I hate most band classes in schools. The teacher assigns what you play, and the poor student has to play the song ‘correctly’. Only during the solo days does the student get to go off and do his own thing.

I consider music the highest art form. It takes a mind both of creativity and math to really compose music. Wii Music isn’t dumbing down music so people just wiggle the controller and ‘never fail’. It is about the music that comes from the player, of what the player generates. ‘Musical Clay’ is exactly right.

While honest reactions to Wii Music are necessary at E3, the over-emcompassing hatred for this poor title was undeserved. Let’s see if IGN is going to pre-judge it s they said they were. It will be very curious to watch how the marke reacts to Wii Music.


Categories