Posted by: seanmalstrom | August 11, 2011

Email: Aonuma wants a Zelda movie

Sean,

I don’t know if you’ve seen this. But I just had to chuckle when I saw the headline. It’s all too obvious who it is.


Zelda Designer Dreams of Making Zelda Movie

I wish I had realized long ago, in the foolishness of my youth, that all the fanfiction comics I made about video games were the result of my imagination and experiences as part of the gaming audience, not the developers’. With that in mind, what Mr. Aonuma is desiring to create here would merely be his own Zelda fan fiction, with Link’s “emotions” as a “little boy” being portrayed on the silver screen. Ever notice the doujinshi scene is big in Japan?
.
One thing about Aonuma is that he doesn’t read or absorb fantasy (which is what Zelda was originally about). No one gives a damn about Link being a boy or about the NPCs in that crappy village he always starts in.

How can a movie be made about ‘puzzle-solving’ anyway? That is what they tell us what Zelda is ‘all about’, right?

I once had a nightmare where I imagined Sakamoto made a Metroid movie. I woke up screaming.


Categories