Posted by: seanmalstrom | June 15, 2021

Nintendo E3 2021 Reaction

I’m not looking at other people’s feedback. Youtubers and message forum essayists are already doing their thing. I’ll do mine before they get their stuff out.

Remember when we thought Nintendo had so many aces up its sleeve due to the Covid 19 delays of last year? Hahahahaha.

Remember the rumors of a Switch Pro to be announced this year? Hahahahaha.

As a gamer, was there anything in that E3 that I wanted to buy?

Nope.

What I think are the two big news is announcement of Metroid Dread and Breath of Wild 2 footage. How’d that go?

Metroid Dread obviously looks like Samus Returns gameplay. I *despised* what Sakamoto did with Samus Returns. It is also ugly 3d. I am a Metroid fan, so Metroid 5 *should* be aimed at me. Yet, this game is going to get a hard pass from me.

I despise Samus-as-ninja gameplay. Metroid 5 is Ninja-Gaiden-In-Space. I’m sure Sakamoto will even put in cutscenes. Metroid 5 will clearly show that Nintendo has no idea how to do Metroid and indies will take over that genre (as they already have).

Folks, if Nintendo couldn’t make a good, satisfying 2d Metroid (a successor to Super Metroid) with Samus Returns, why would Metroid Dread be any different? And who wants to fight against a moron robot. The antagonist looks stupid.

Making a Metroid game is not THAT hard. Start with Super Metroid as the core gameplay and build from there. Better wall jumping mechanic. Larger and more levels. That sort of thing. Instead, we get ninja melee attacks with space robots. Metroid has always been a very organic game. Metroid is not about robots.

Still, I’ve seen very little footage so the game might surprise.

Breath of the Wild 2 is a solid thud of disappointment. I thought they might explore the underworld, but that would probably require too much talent. Instead, it is islands in the sky. And I am sure lots of paragliding.

When Aonuma appears on the screen, I run behind my chair in fright. Whatever he is about to say is going to be cringe city.

It’s pretty clear Aonuma has no idea why Breath of the Wild was successful. Why Aonuma is still there after his chain of failures, it has to be politics inside the company.

Since Breath of the Wild, Nintendo has released…

Link’s Awakening 3d Remake (Blah)

Zelda: Age of Calamity (Blah)

Skyward Sword HD (Blah)

Nintendo is on borrowed time after BoW’s success to get people excited about playing Zelda. Skyward Sword remakes won’t do it. Overrated gameboy game remakes won’t do it. And for Age of Calamity? Meh.

If Breath of the Wild 2 doesn’t deliver, Zelda IP might very well go back to the toilet as it was pre-BotW.

Breath of the Wild 2 just looks LAME. Those aren’t islands in the sky. Those are puzzles. I know what Aonuma is doing. I think BoW 2 will play more like puzzles-in-sky and not like a true open world (as BoW 1 was).

But little is shown. We will know more. I’m going based off of experience and instinct of covering Nintendo for well over a decade.

Overall, I thought Nintendo’s offering was extremely weak. I see Metroid 5 and BoW 2 as pulling the legs from those franchises. Metroid is very near extinct as an IP. Nintendo keeps failing in the 2d side. It all depends on Prime 4.

Breath of the Wild is mimicking Ocarina of Time in that Aonuma will milk the market with mediocre puzzle-story Zelda games as long as he can under the marketing illusion that it is the next Breath of Wild or Ocarina of Time. When sales get too low, then, and only then, does Nintendo actually work hard to make a good Zelda game. So expect the next truly good Zelda game in 2035.


Categories